Heidelberg University
Home >

The Center

 

The Heidelberg Latin America Centre for postgraduate study and further training in Santiago de Chile was founded in 2001 and officially opened on 9th April 2002. It has the task of organising, managing and marketing the courses of study maintained either independently by Heidelberg University or in co-operation with the Pontificia Catholic University of Chile and the University of Chile. Heidelberg University has arranged co-operation agreements with both of these universities, the two most important universities in Chile. The centre also has responsibility for programmes of further training. This initiative enables Heidelberg University to pursue its aims of passing on the accumulated knowledge of German research and teaching and to promote scientific co-operation between Germany and Latin America. The centre co-ordinates the activities of Heidelberg University in Latin America and provides a platform for scientific co-operation.


The centre is financially supported in these early years by the Ministry for Science, Research and Art in Baden-Württemberg, Heidelberg University and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). The Heidelberg Latin America Centre is run as a society subject to Chilean civil law. Its partners are Heidelberg University, with its corporate funds, and the Unterländer study fund, a public law foundation.

El Center

The Heidelberg Centre is situated in the beautiful, centrally-located Providencia part of town in the Avenida Los Leones 1035. The building has been attractively renovated and suitably furnished. Students are provided with well-equipped seminar rooms, a small library and cafeteria in a pleasant atmosphere.

Students of the Heidelberg Centre and its partner universities can take part in the basic, intermediate and top level German language courses. In the way of culture concerts of German and Chilean chamber ensembles are organised.

 



   

 

to top of page
Please send requests concerning this page to: Philippe Bayer
September, 24th 2012

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Das Center

 

Das Heidelberg Center Lateinamerika, Postgraduierten- und Weiterbildungszentrum der Universität Heidelberg in Santiago de Chile, wurde am 9. April 2002 offiziell eröffnet. Es hat die Aufgabe, Studiengänge zu organisieren, zu vermarkten und zu betreuen, die von der Universität Heidelberg selbständig oder gemeinsam mit der Universidad Católica und/oder der Universidad de Chile getragen werden. Mit den beiden bedeutendsten chilenischen Universitäten wurden Kooperationsverträge unterschrieben. Das Angebot und die Durchführung von Weiterbildungsprogrammen gehören auch zum Aufgabenbereich des Centers. Mit dieser Initiative verfolgt die Universität Heidelberg das Ziel, deutsche Forschungsergebnisse und Lehrinhalte in Lateinamerika zu vermitteln und die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Lateinamerika zu fördern. Das Heidelberg Center soll die Aktivitäten der Universität Heidelberg in Lateinamerika koordinieren und eine Plattform für die wissenschaftliche Kooperation bilden.


Finanziell unterstützt wird das Center in den Anfangsjahren vom Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, der Universität Heidelberg und dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst. Das Heidelberg Center Lateinamerika wird als Gesellschaft privaten chilenischen Rechts (GmbH) betrieben. Gesellschafter sind die Universität Heidelberg mit ihrem Körperschaftsvermögen und der Unterländer Studienfonds, eine Stiftung des öffentlichen Rechts.

El Center

Das Heidelberg Center hat sein Domizil in der Straße Las Hortensias 2340 im schönen, zentral gelegenen Stadtteil Providencia. Das Gebäude wurde ansprechend renoviert und funktional eingerichtet. In einem angenehmen Ambiente stehen den Studierenden gut ausgestattete Seminarräume, eine kleine Bibliothek und eine Cafeteria zur Verfügung.

Studierende des Heidelberg Centers und der Partneruniversitäten können an den Deutschkursen der Grund-, Mittel- und Oberstufe sowie an den fachorientierten Lektürekursen für Fortgeschrittene in den Bereichen Philosophie, Literatur, Medizin und Jura teilnehmen. Zum kulturellen Angebot gehören Konzerte deutscher und chilenischer Kammerensembles.

 



   

 

zum Seitenanfang
Fragen oder Anregungen zu diesen Seiten: Philippe Bayer
Stand: 24. September 2012